Why start a blog?

Hello, and welcome to my first blog attempt. Up until 12 hours ago I had absolutely zero knowledge of how blogs worked or how to start a blog. Jumping in with both feet seemed like the only logical thing to do. It’s kinda how I’ve gone about my running (which this blog will be about) since I started in 2012. Since then I’ve run a trail half marathon in 2013, a trail marathon in 2014, a 50 km trail race and a 50 miler in 2015. in amongst that I’ve run numerous half marathons, one road marathon (which ended horrendously) and 2 more trail marathons (Scafell Pike Trail Marathon).

Why start a blog? Well, this year I am running my first 100 mile ultra. Which is double the distance that I’ve run before. I ran Lakes In A DayΒ in 2015, a 50 miler travelling the length of The Lake District National Park. By the end of that I was absolutely cooked. Who knows what state I’ll be in come July. So yeah, its a way for me to document my races and training and anything else that I think might be of interest to somebody… anybody!

I was asked to write a race report by my running club DH RunnersΒ on a cross country race I competed in a couple of weeks ago. That was my first blog post, I copy and pasted it in with a couple of adjustments.Β I actually enjoyed doing it, and the words seemed to arrive relatively easily. I doubt that’ll last. So, with a little encouragement from my girlfriend Rosie, this happened.

I hope you find something that might interest you!

Mike

 

cropped-2016_0827_143832_0091.jpg
Chamonix, 2016
Leave a Reply

